OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

**voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN** Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED** Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE**
Sacramento County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790

E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

March 29, 2017

Assembly Member Bill Quirk PO Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0020

Dear Assembly Member Quirk:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **AB 840**, your proposal relating to accepting unsigned vote by mail ballot statements by email. AB 840 will offer vote by mail voters with unsigned ballot envelopes another way to return a signature to election officials to complete the signature verification process and count the ballot.

Current law allows election officials to provide a vote by mail voter a statement to complete and sign if the voter's ballot envelope is returned unsigned. The statement is available by mail and on the election officials' website, but the voter must mail, fax or hand deliver the statement to the election official to complete the process within an 8-day window. With mail taking 3-7 days for delivery and most people not having access to a fax machine, it is not always easy to return these statements in a timely fashion.

Your proposal to expand the way to return the statement via email will greatly improve the .voter experience for many voters and will provide them with a quick and easy remedy to allow their ballot to be counted.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.org or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at lavinej@saccounty.net or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

Diciallebber

Tricia Webber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy

Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee